Re: RF access point application confirmation

Jim Kusznir <jkusznir@...>

One more comment on "we already have that" line:

Yes, 9600 AX25 has been readily available for some time.  However, the existing solutions are both expensive and difficult for many hams to get into.  I've been running one of those 9600 Winlink RMSes for several years now.  So far, the only user that comes in on 9600 is also me.

I bought a PK-96 back in the 1990's, and have used that with my Yaesu radio w/ the "data" port on the back.  Cost: about $700.  I could have bought a less expensive radio. Today's cost: $450.  I would still need to borrow test equipment to properly set my deviation.  And even then, the radio would not be "mountaintop safe".  I also know these things, and thus have a "realisitc picture" of what it takes to do 9600 in today's environment.  My local user group just sees the "difficulty of 9600" as too great, and sticks with 1200 packet.

The UDR offers to fix that.  In one black box, one gets a radio that today can do 9600 with all the magic levels pre-set/calibrated, with a web-based GUI to configure.  In fact, for winlink applications, it comes with everything you need to offer a winlink to POP/SMTP gateway so users can set this up on their home network and use standard mail clients like thunderbird to read/write winlink mail!  While that can be done with current technology, its a lot of complicated "gluing stuff together" and either borrowing (and knowing how to use) expensive test gear, or buying very expensive radios.  The UDR brings a revolution to packet radio environment by:

1) Making 9600 more accessible to "the masses"
2) providing an interesting "tinkering" platform for those interested
3) Building momentum into further development into ham radio digital