Topics

Setting up auto time with draws gps #ntp #chrony #gps #clock #battery

Bob Orrett <boborrett@...>

Hello everyone and Merry Christmas,
This has most likely been covered before but I can't find it. How do I get the system time to automatically set from the draws gps at bootup without internet connection.
I enter "cgps -s" in the terminal window and the time sets after about 30 seconds for reasons that escape me. There must be a way to have this done automatically. 
    I expect you can tell that I am a newbie to RPi and linux so I need clear simple  step by step instructions. Please do not assume I will understand linux jargon. Someday I hope to be there but I am not there yet.  I dont mean to sound rude, I just dont want anyone to waste their time on me because they are afraid of insulting my intelligence.  Go ahead, insult me. 
Bob ve3obo

Art - KC7SDA

i think you have to have the battery installed for the rtc.... it takes a bit to get the signal and then set the clock.

I'm assuming you did the chrony and gps install as described in the wiki?

As has been discussed previously.  NTP services like chrony slowly adjust the system clock based on information obtained from both ntp servers and refclocks (like the GPS and PPS).

Basil has created a script that verifies time at ~/n7nix/gps/verify_time.sh

The command line to do a quick update of the clock is:   sudo chronyc makestep

You can verify your clocks with: chronyc sources -v

The battery backed RTC in the GPS must be set by the GPS once it has acquired the time reference from the satellites. 

In my opinion, NTP time synchronization works best if the computer is not powered down and the Raspberry Pi is well suited to continuous operation at low power consumption.  With the computer running continuously the chrony daemon can keep the system clock well synchronized whether using the GPS/PPS and/or network connections.  (It ignores sources that are not reporting or are way out of sync.)